Prurient thread

Primary section for noise and noise-adjacent discussion.
smallopeninginthedoor
Sound Art

Prurient thread

Post by smallopeninginthedoor »

I've been lurking on this forum ever since this came up and I thought I'd submit my first thread dedicated to Prurient and other Fernow projects, since I really haven't seen anyone talking about his work (other than being included in a couple lists) I've been listening to noise and related for many years and I've yet to find an artist whose work resonates with me as much as Prurient. Albums like The Golden Chamber, his self titled 2007 LP, Troubled Sleep and Annihilationist are (in my humble opinion) some of the most compelling and emotionally loaded noise albums I've ever heard. Maybe I'm just gushing and a fan boy but I'm genuinely interested in knowing why his work doesn't seem to get much recognition here, is his golden time over and people have simply moved on to newer things?
W.K.
C20

Re: Prurient thread

Post by W.K. »

Nice to see Golden Chamber mentioned, I agree it's one of his best!
smallopeninginthedoor
Sound Art

Post by smallopeninginthedoor »

W.K. wrote: Thu Feb 10, 2022 6:40 am Nice to see Golden Chamber mentioned, I agree it's one of his best!
It's a shame that he only made 44 copies of the tape, especially when the album feels as grand as a full blown statement album. I'd love to own that tape but I'm 100% sure it's gonna cost an ungodly amount the next time it pops up for sale hahah
sarinDK
Contact Mic

Post by sarinDK »

I don't know many of his releases, however I enjoyed the recent album on Tesco 'Casablanca Flamethrower' a lot. Very mixed industrial sounds and a strong narrative focus. I should probably dig deeper into his discography, the aesthetics are impressive.
Have been trying to get into Rainforest Spiritual Enslavement and Vatican Shadow, but it just doesn't do it for me. I prefer techno music derived of context.
totalblack
Hard Panning

Post by totalblack »